Federal Disaster Assistance is for Nebraska renters too

Federal Disaster Assistance is for Nebraska renters too

LINCOLN, Neb. – The following is from the Federal Emergency Management Agency:

“Renters in Nebraska counties and tribal areas whose homes and property were damaged by the March severe winter storms, straight-line winds and flooding may be eligible for federal disaster assistance.

Aid is available to residents of Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Buffalo, Burt, Butler, Cass, Colfax, Cuming, Custer, Dodge, Douglas, Hall, Howard, Knox, Madison, Nance, Nemaha, Pierce, Platte, Richardson, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, Stanton, Thurston and Washington counties as well as the Santee Sioux Nation.

There are federal grants that can help pay for temporary housing. These rental grants are for a 30-day period, subject to review until renters’ previous homes are again livable or they find another home.

Register with FEMA for assistance by going to www.disasterassistance.gov”